A New Chapter in Ministry

Big News!

Five years ago (2012), I felt God’s nudge as I left a loving congregation in Tequesta, Florida, and accepted a call to serve as the Associate Presbyter of Youth and Young Adults with the Presbytery of the Peaks in Lynchburg, Virginia. I have experienced God’s movement in amazing experiences over these years, including a thriving youth ministry, wonderful trips with mission, Youth Triennium, Montreat, Massanetta, and many retreats. We have experienced awesome camping programs with Camp Peaks and Camp Bethel, a beloved community of young adults in ‘Drinks and Discussion’, and numerous committees and workgroups that pour their hearts and souls in the ministry of the presbytery…just to name a small amount of what has been going on! I have met countless individuals and congregations that have shaped me in ways that words simply cannot adequately express.

Over the past few months I have felt God’s nudge once again as I have continued to dream and pray about serving back on the congregational level. I have longed to preach on a regular basis, develop relationships with local community ministries and organizations, and most importantly walk alongside individuals and families on their spiritual journeys through the years in a more personal way.

I’m excited to announce that I have accepted a call to serve as the Designated Pastor of Valley Community Presbyterian Church in Portland, Oregon, effective July 17th! As a pastor, I am so excited to serve alongside this congregation with a rich history of mission, dynamic worship, family ministries, and community involvement. I look forward to our relationship together, as Valley has already expressed wonderful love and hospitality toward Julie and me.

 

20170319_174646.jpgJulie and I dreamed and spoke about how God may be using us in the future as a married couple. One of those dreams is to live and play in a beautiful part of God’s creation, and we think Portland and the Pacific Northwest are just that. Julie will have some wonderful opportunities to find a good job in her field of fisheries and environmental conservation, and we’ll both be enjoying the amazing natural world that is this part of the country.

More news and announcements will surely be posted ahead, so stay tuned! And of course we will excitedly welcome visitors to our home…when we find one!

I greatly appreciate your thoughts and prayers during this exciting, nerve-racking, and crazy time of personal and professional transition!

Leave a Reply

